image credit: Flickr

Nobel Prize in Medicine Awarded to 3 Scientists for Oxygen Research

October 7, 2019

STOCKHOLM — The 2019 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to scientists William G. Kaelin, Jr, Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza.

They received the award jointly for their discoveries of “how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability,” the Nobel Committee announced Monday.

Two of the scientists, Kaelin and Semenza, are U.S.-based, at Harvard University and Johns Hopkins respectively. The other scientist, Ratcliffe, is based at the Francis Crick Institute in London.

Read More on Time Health